Undergraduate Studies

Department of Philology

  1. Home
  2. Studies
  3. Undergraduate studies

Undergraduate Studies

The undergraduate program of studies in the Department of Philology runs for four (4) academic years, namely eight (8) semesters (Winter – Spring). Students are required to attend and be examined successfully in six (6) courses every semester, namely forty-eight (48) courses in total (= 6 x 8) – plus another course in a modern language.

Each semester runs for fifteen (15) weeks, thirteen (13) of which are dedicated to lectures and another two to examinations. There is also a resit examination period for both semesters in September.

There are both compulsory (Y) and optional / elective (EY) courses. Each course corresponds to three (3) hours of teaching weekly and is credited with 5 ECTS.

In the fourth year of studies, students choose the pathway they want to specialize in: Classics, Medieval & Modern Greek, and Linguistics (currently not available).

For more information, please consult the current Handbook of Studies  of the Department of Philology.